Guardians Of Light Gallery · Parenting · Uncategorized

The Hands That Hold

So, this sketch surprised me. It’s really about my step-mom. She passed away unexpectedly when I was about 20 years old.

The story

I had an interesting relationship with my step-mom. Without going into a lot of detail, I hadn’t talked or seen her or my dad for at least 5 years. It was a shock for me and my sisters.

As I have grown up and had a family of my own, I think about what life would be like had she not passed away. We have a whole different relationship with my dad now, and I wonder how she would fit into the picture.

Even though she has moved on now I do feel that she had the chance or will have the chance to be apart of my children’s lives in a positive uplifting way. Along with her children’s kids that never had the opportunity to meet her in this life.

The women in the sketch is my step mother and the child is my oldest son Vincent. It shows the love and joy that can has come from this relationship despite the fact that they have never physically met.

Conclusion

But it means so much more than just that. I think every Mom or Dad has someone in their lives that they feel is a special part of the future generation. This can include mother’s, grandma’s, Aunt’s, Sister’s, etc. I know our ancestors are helping us all in this world as we travel life’s journey.

To purchase this print visit my Etsy shop at Guardians of Light a Gallery, The Hands That Hold

Leave a comment